Empowering Local Businesses
Home city guide administration in mirzapur

Administration in Mirzapur

There are 70 districts in Uttar Pradesh and district of Mirzapur is one of them. In 2005, Mirzapur district was divided into three zones – Mirzapur, Sonbhadra and Sant Ravidas Nagar. This administrative district has its headquarters in the main Mirzapur town. The city is surrounded by lush green mountains, gorgeous cascades and discreet gorges that make it a perfect weekend getaway destination.

District Administration in Mirzapur

The entire 4521 sq km of urban and rural Mirzapur is supervised and managed by different government bodies namely Mirzapur Municipal Corporation, Mirzapur Development Authority, District Court of Mirzapur and Police authorities. All these departments work together to make the city a better and safe place to live in.

Mirzapur Municipal Corporation mainly looks after the civic and infrastructure of the city area. Its tasks also include proper maintenance of sewage, water control, electricity, telecom sector and beautification of Mirzapur.

Mirzapur District Court was established during colonial era for proper implementation of justice throughout the province. Today, there three-tier judicial system present as district level. The most important court for civil jurisdiction is of District and Session Judge. Additional District and Sessions Judge and Court of District and Session judge have been allotted with six courts for well-organized administration.

To make the administrative unit more efficient and smooth functioning, district of Mirzapur is further divided into tehsils namely, Sardar, Chunar, Marihan and Lalganj. A further root level division is also created to distinguish every blocks and thana. Presently there are 12 blocks and 15 thanas or police stations.

Block Names in Mirzapur

  • Mirzapur
  • Kon
  • Channbey
  • Majhwan
  • Pahari
  • Sikhar
  • Narayanpur
  • Jamalpur
  • Marihan
  • Rajgarh
  • Halia
  • Lalganj

Police Stations in Mirzapur

  • City Kotwali
  • Katara Kotwali
  • Dehat Kotwali
  • Chunar Kotwali
  • Thana Vindyachal
  • Thana Kachhawan
  • Thana Chilh
  • Thana Jigana
  • Thana Padari
  • Thana Marihan
  • Thana Lalganj
  • Thana Adalhat
  • Thana Jamalpur
  • Thana Arhoura
  • Thana Halia

Some of the important administrative contact details of Mirzapur administration is listed below:

Divisional Commissioner Mirzapur
Phone no.: 05442 252986, 256888

District Magistrate Mirzapur
Phone no.: 05442 257400, 9454417567

Chief Development Officer
Phone no.: 05442 257294

City Magistrate
Phone no.: 05442 252801

Also Read:

You may also like to visit

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries